2012 ASCO Annual Meeting-Chicago/USA

2012 ASCO Annual Meeting-Chicago/USA
Award IDEA recipients and the chairman of IDEA program, ASCO

mercredi 30 janvier 2008

FCA board of directors elections results

Dear FCAers,

Let me begin by wishing every member of our FCA family a very happy, healthy and prosperous New Year.

As you know, the recent FCA Board of Directors election ended on 24 December, 2007. In accordance to the 'New Board Elections Procedures'—voted upon during the First General Assembly in 2007—three seats were contested in this election: 2 of the 6 regional seats and 1 of the 3 at-large positions. As such, the ballots featured respectively the AFRO and EMRO regions along with one AT-LARGE seat.

Prior, candidates for each individual position were nominated by their affiliated organization during the nomination phase. During the election, members of the FCA were granted the opportunity, via a secure online voting site, to select one representative for each the AFRO and EMRO regions and AT-LARGE seat.

Approximately 28% of eligible voting member organizations took part in the vote. In compliance with election rules, a minimum 10% voter turnout is required.

The FCA membership voted wisely and elected a diverse Board with different talents, all of whom have substantial experience as advocates and a high level of commitment to tobacco control.

As a result, Francis Thompson (Canada) was appointed the AT-LARGE post, while incumbent directors Akinbode Oluwafemi (Nigeria) and Ehsan Latif (Pakistan) were re-elected to fulfill an additional 3 year term for the AFRO and EMRO regions respectively.

For the complete results of the election, please consult: http://www.fctc.org/x/fca-2007-bod-elections-results.pdf .
The elected officials will serve for a three-year term on the Board.

The new composition of the Board of Directors of the Framework Convention Alliance is as follows:

AFRO: Akinbode Oluwafemi
AMRO: Paula Johns
EMRO: Ehsan Latif
EURO: Deborah Arnott
SEARO: Shoba John
WPRO: Mary Assunta
AT-LARGE: Francis Thompson
AT-LARGE: Prof. Richard Daynard
AT-LARGE: Ross Hammond

The next FCA Election will be held in December 2008. In the upcoming 2008 FCA Election the following three seats will be contested: 1 At-Large seat and the positions for the WPRO and EURO regions.

The FCA Articles of Incorporation provides that the Board of Directors shall meet and elect its own officers. The result of the election is not therefore indicative of who becomes officer in the Board of Directors.

Best regards,


Aucun commentaire: